Banana Cranberry Muffins (Gluten Free)

We’re in the middle of a snow storm in Baltimore, and it’s the perfect time to bake muffins….Yup, nasty weather calls for comfort food. Muffins can definitely be comfort food. Although, when I bake, they are a healthy comfort food.

If we were in NY, this would seem like a typical day of wind and snow. But because we are in the Mid-Atlantic, all schools, universities and even the government is shut down. Normally Brett has to work at Charm City Run, but they closed early, so a day off for him too. The weatherman is calling for 6-12 inches of snow through tonight. If the wind wasn’t blowing so hard with up to 25mph gusts, it would be a great day to be out. The wind chill makes it feel like it’s in the teens, so just a little chilly. Taking Rogue to the bathroom and for a 20min walk is about it for today.

photo 1

Since I’m still learning about how to do this whole blogging thing, I have to warn you, all of my recipes will not look that professional. I really do enjoy going to other websites and blogs and marveling in how beautiful their pictures are. They make their food preparation and then the presentation look glamorous. Unfortunately, for right now, you’ll only get basic pictures. Maybe one day I will purchase a nice camera to take beautiful pictures, but for now, it’s my Iphone.

Usually, I am not gluten free. Thankfully I don’t have an allergy, and gluten doesn’t give me any other GI issues. Occasionally however, I like to do mini cleanses, where I take out all potential allergens and re-set my body. Very similarly to the Whole30 nutrition plan. Also, gluten free things tend to be lower in carbohydrates and higher in fiber (not always true though). This recipe doesn’t use coconut flower, but it is one of my favorite flours to use as it’s low in carbohydrates and high in fiber. It’s a bit tricky to bake with though.

So instead, this recipe uses oat flour and almond flour, two other good gluten free flours. When I am trying to do a mini cleanse, I also cut refined sugar out of my diet. So here, I am using stevia, natural applesauce and bananas for added sweetener. It is also low in fat. I think this muffin is a good choice for someone looking for a comfort food, while needing to be gluten free and watching their added sugar intake. If you are not looking to watch your added sugar intake (why aren’t you?) and you are not gluten free, then this muffin might not taste like a traditional muffin (one loaded with fat and sugar). But to me, it is delicious, and won’t make you feel sick after eating it. A smear of sunbutter or nut butter on this would be good too.

photo 2

Banana Cranberry Muffins- 12 regular muffins

  • 1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries thawed
  • 2 tbsp stevia
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 almond flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil or other oil
  • 1 tbsp natural applesauce (no added sugar, just natural)
  • 1/2 cup stevia
  • 1 egg, plus 1 egg white
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2-3 ripe bananas mashed
  • optional-cinnamon, nutmeg, chocolate chips (I usually cut up a 70% chocolate bar), walnuts
  1. Heat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray your muffin tins or use muffin liners.
  2. In a small saucepan, cook the cranberries, stevia and water on medium high until the cranberries start to break down and pop. After the mixture boils, reduce the heat and cook for around 5 min. It will look a bit like the start of cranberry sauce. If you would like to keep the berries whole, sprinkle the berries with the stevia, and do not add the water and do not cook. Add as is to the batter later.
  3. Combine first 4 ingredients- oat flout, almond flour, baking soda, salt
  4. Combine next 5 ingredients- coconut oil, applesauce, stevia, vanilla and eggs
  5. Gently mix the wet and dry ingredients together. Gently stir in the mashed bananas and the cranberries. If adding additional ingredients like chocolate or nuts, add here as well. Mixture should be lumpy, but thoroughly mixed.
  6. Fill muffin tins 3/4 of the way full and bake for around 25 min. I always check sooner, just to make sure they aren’t burning. Plus, everyone’s ovens are just a bit different.
  7. Cool on a wire rack and store covered. If not eaten within a few days, I would freeze them for later use
4 thoughts on “Banana Cranberry Muffins (Gluten Free)

  1. I am going to make these Cristina they look wonderful and will fit into my crazy paleo plan. I am also jealous of Betsy’s vitamix! Love the pic of Rogue and Brett although it looks so darn cold!

    Like

    • It is cold, still! Tomorrow we might get another inch of snow, but at least it’s supposed to be in the 30’s. That’s totally doable right? Let me know what you think of the muffins. I love banana things and purposely let some bananas ripen too much for recipes. The riper the sweeter!

      Like

  2. I made dairy free apple muffins… Same train of thought. (That it’s cold and I don’t want to go out). We are thinking of getting the flour grinding jar for the vitamix to do gluten free flours on occassion.

    Like

    • Oh I’m jealous of your Vitamix. I’ve just been buying prepackaged bags of flour, but there is definitely a cost savings I’m sure with grinding your own. Maybe one day. Hope you are enjoying the snow and staying safe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

