Banana Blueberry Pancakes (Paleo, GF)

I’ve always loved snow, and especially snow storms. I might be in the minority, but snow to me means warm and cozy sweaters, fires in the fireplace, sledding, skiing, snowshoeing, and pancakes. Yesterday and today the entire East Coast was slammed with snow and rain. And then later today we are getting more snow as well. If it’s going to be cold, there might as well be snow so you can enjoy it. So far we have 9.5 inches of snow and expect more this afternoon and evening.

downloadFor Christmas Brett got me a griddle for the stove. Pancakes are one of my favorite foods and grilled cheese is one of his. So he was so excited to give it to me this Christmas. It’s pretty awesome and cleans up very easily.

Since my injury, I’ve been cutting back on high carb food like pancakes. But at times like this when it’s cold out and we’re getting snow, warm and fluffy pancakes are a must. Normally I would make whole wheat pancakes, but instead today I used almond flour and oat flour. Both are lower in carbs and higher in protein, and fat. If you want to follow paleo, I would use 2 cups of almond flour instead of oat flour. I do not follow a Paleo diet as I love dairy including skim milk, cottage cheese and yogurt. So in my pancake recipe, I used normal skim milk. Feel free to use almond milk, soy milk or water. I don’t know if any oil is really needed as the eggs supply the lipids for the batter, but I added just a bit. Feel free to leave it out if you would like.

download

Banana Blueberry Pancakes-(18-4inch pancakes)

  • 2-3 ripe bananas (the riper the sweeter)
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4c natural unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 c oat flour
  • 1 c almond flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon or additional spices like nutmeg
  • 1/2 c milk (skim, almond, soy) or water, more if needed
  • 1/2 c of blueberries, fresh or frozen

Preheat skillet or pan to medium heat

  1. In a medium sized bowl, mash the bananas with a fork
  2. Add the oil and applesauce and stir
  3. Create a well in the wet ingredients, add eggs and whisk. Stir the eggs into the rest of the wet mixture and stir in the vanilla until all ingredients are blended
  4. In another bowl mix flours, baking soda and spices
  5. Combine wet and dry ingredients adding milk as necessary to make a desired consistency. I used the entire 1/2 cup
  6. Gently stir in blueberries
  7. Pour batter by 1/4 cup onto hot griddle. Once you see bubbles on the top of the pancakes check to see what the bottom of the pancakes look like. My pancakes took between 4-5min to cook, flipping after 1:30-2min.
  8. Enjoy the hot pancakes with fruit on top, or plain. Our favorite is with crushed pineapple

Nutrition per serving for 4 servings:

  • 413kcal
  • 39g  carbohydrate
  • 24g fat
  • 15g protein
Leave a Reply

