“Healthier” Linguine and Clams

Growing up, Easter was my favorite holiday. Christmas was a close second, but Easter had it by a slight margin. Easter was going to Church in a new Easter dress, jelly beans after the service, checking out what the Easter bunny had left for us in our baskets, polish bologna with spicy mustard, Italian meat pie, and best of all, spending time with my family.

This year, both Brett and I had to work the day before Easter, so we weren’t able to get to see family for Easter. But, the next best thing is spending time with friends. Our friend Betsy is an Episcopal minister in Northern VA, and always gives a wonderful service. She has a way of bringing the sermon into very relatable terms in a creative way. This Easter’s sermon even involved Walking Dead references.

easter3

After the service we had a light brunch at Panera, then headed into the crazy DC-Baltimore traffic. I think a normal 1 hour drive took 2 hours. We, or at least I, am very used to the traffic, so what do I do….? Turn on talk radio or a pod cast. There are several good triathlon pod casts and my latest pod cast has to do with money talk. Brett and I have started Financial Peace University with Dave Ramsey, so I like to keep my motivation up (for gaining financial freedom) by listening to him when I can. Clark Howard is also pretty interesting. I’m sure there are others too. Eventually we got home and I pulled out my brand new birthday present from my parents. I love Williams Sonoma, and I love Easter. So, my parents got me an Easter serving bowl from Williams Sonoma. Not having the time to cook Italian meat pie, I decided linguine with clams was the way to go. And it would look great in my new bowl.

easter1

We save “white” pasta for nights before a race, when we don’t want the fiber. But because we wanted to have a healthier dinner, we chose a 100% whole wheat pasta. And while I am saying linguine and clams, to be correct, it was actually fettucine and clams. As much as I searched, I couldn’t find whole wheat linguine. so, fettucine is pretty close. Here are some other changes I made:

  • typical linguine and clams has a ton of butter/oil, my version only has 1/4 cup total
  • the basic recipe doesn’t have any added veggies, I add onion, asparagus and mushrooms
  • I added white wine to help with the richness of the sauce due to the lack of fat added

If you haven’t had linguine and clams, the sauce is meant to be for dipping a hearty bread and mopping up the wonderful sauce. Don’t be alarmed if this dish is a bit watery/liquidy. That’s the way it’s supposed to be.

Here’s my recipe for Linguine and Clams (Serves 4-6) :

easter2

  • 1x 16oz package of whole wheat macaroni (fettucine, linguine, etc)
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 6 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 cups of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 bunch of asparagus, cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 2 (6.5oz ) cans of chopped clams with juice
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • several sprinkles of red pepper flakes (optional)
  • salt and pepper
  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the macaroni and return the water to a boil. Follow the directions on the package, but most likely for 7-9min. Drain
  2. In a large skillet, place unsalted butter and olive oil and heat on medium
  3. Add chopped onions and garlic and cook until the onions are translucent
  4. Add mushrooms and asparagus and cook until softened, 5-8 min more
  5. Without draining the clams, pour the clams into the vegetables. Add the 1/4 cup of wine and parsley and cook for 3-5 minutes. You don’t want to clams to over cook and get to rubbery.
  6. Sprinkle in parmesan cheese, red pepper and salt and pepper
  7. Toss the macaroni and the sauce together. Sprinkle with additional cheese if desired
  8. Enjoy with a hearty bread!

Nutrition per serving for 6 servings:

  • 473kcal
  • 69g carbohydrate
  • 11g fat
  • 27g protein
  • 2g fiber

 

One thought on ““Healthier” Linguine and Clams

Leave a Reply

