Turkey “Meatloaf” Cups

Even though it is still  pretty hot here in Baltimore, I wanted to bake something in the oven. I like making meals that you can spend time up front, then you have that meal for several days/meals. I know some people don’t like leftovers, but I love leftovers. They are quick to heat and sometimes taste even better than the first day you made them. That usually happens with soups and muffins.

You’ll have to excuse the terrible pictures I take with the iphone. I don’t have a “real” camera and photo’s are not my specialty.

These also may not look that appealing, but they are pretty tasty. Some things to note, this recipe made about 20 mini meatloafs, so you’ll need 2 muffin tins. Spray or butter your tins, as they will stick to them. Clean up also isn’t that much fun, but if you have a dishwasher, it won’t be too bad. Brett is our dishwasher, so we just soaked them over night first.

There are a lot of veggies in these cups and if you have a food processor, feel free to use it. I currently don’t have one, so I just chopped them up as small as I could get them.

With this recipe you can use almost any veggie you want, and I actually had more veggies than meat. Some might not like this and might want to add additional meat. I do not mind this, in fact I’m a fan of more veggies. The meatloafs did not fall apart and you can tell they are still made from turkey. So, in my mind, they are delicious and perfect with the amount of veggies. I might use more next time. I think mushrooms and spinach are other good veggies here. The picture does not show a topping, however like traditional meatloaf, you can add a bit of ketchup or BBQ sauce for extra tang. These are low in fat, high in protein, provide a good amount of veggies and are pretty low in calories. We had roasted asparagus on the side.

meatloaf

Turkey Meatloaf Cups, (20 cups, with a serving size of 2-4 cups per person)

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 zucchini, minced
  • 1 red pepper, minced
  • 1 pound of lean (93or 99% lean) ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa-I would make more and save it for another use
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • Salt and Pepper and any additional spices to taste-more garlic or onion powder would be a good choice
  • Ketchup or BBQ sauce for a topping if desired (go easy, there’s added sugar in both)
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. This is the ideal temp for roasting other things, so you can put in a veggie for a side dish while these are cooking. Spray or butter 2 muffin tins. Since you might not have enough meat loaf to fill all the cups, fill the empty muffin cups with water.
  2. Mince or process the garlic, onion, zucchini, and red pepper. Place in a large bowl.
  3. Add the ground turkey, quinoa, eggs, Worcestershire, mustard and spices. Mix with your hands until combined. It will be a little wet, but this will firm up in the oven.
  4. Fill the muffin tins 3/4 or all the way to the top of the cup. Top with topping if desired.
  5. Oven’s vary, however I baked mine for 25 minutes. If you use less, they may be done sooner, if you use more, they may take longer.

Nutrition for 3 cups per serving:

  • 185kcal
  • 10g carbohydrate
  • 8g fat
  • 19g protein
  • 2 g fiber
2 thoughts on “Turkey “Meatloaf” Cups

  1. These sound so good Cristina, When my kids were still home I always used leftovers and yes they can taste better (especially enchiladas). I always added veggies to my meatloaf. I love the idea though of the mini meatloaves. I would bet you could also just line the cups as you would for muffins, so they don’t make a mess of the muffin tin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

