Banana Blueberry Protein Muffins

Today is IM Louisville and my athlete Faith is competing. Since I can’t be there in person, I’m glued to my phone/computer watching IMLive.com and making muffins. Yum.  And I have to share on here, she just got out of the water in a 1:42!!! I am so proud of her and her hard work. A few years ago she didn’t know how to swim. With some swim lessons, underwater videotaping and then her determination, she’s just completed an IM swim, of 2.4 miles with 38 min to spare.

Faith is the kind of athlete coaches dream of having. Someone who is eager to learn, determined to succeed, positive, listens and follows her workouts to a T. I’ve been lucky to know her for the past 4 years, but I’ve only coached her for the past 2. Even though I live in Baltimore now, I can coach her remotely. Thankfully when I was teaching her to swim, I lived in Oregon so we could work 1 on 1. As a coach, watching someone go from not knowing how to swim, never having biked on more than a hybrid and never having raced triathlon, to competing in an IM is such an amazing feeling. It’s her hard work that got her there, but being able to assist along the way is fantastic. Her day is about overcoming obstacles and succeeding. Thankfully I’m not working today, so I can stay glued to my technology and watch her cross that finish line before 12:00am.

But, I can’t literally watch her online, the tracker is slow to update and of course it’s not splits every minute. So, I decided to help another athlete and make them blueberry banana protein muffins. Something to up the amount of fruit in their diet, in addition to providing a good pre-workout snack or snack anytime.

I made these muffins with 100% whole grain flour, however if you’re gluten free, or don’t want whole grains (why not?) you can use a gluten free flour or all purpose flour. I haven’t made these with either choice, however feel free to give it a whirl and tell me how they came out. My suggestion for a gluten free flour would be to cut it down to only 1/2 cup and you might need more liquid depending on which flour you used (rice, almond, coconut). Additional add in’s could be a 1/4 cup of nuts or 1/4 cup of ground chia/flax seeds-more liquid might be necessary.

muffins

Blueberry Banana Protein Muffins-12 muffins

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup of vanilla whey/Vega or other plant based protein (add 1 tsp vanilla to wet ing. if not using a vanilla protein)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large, or 3 small/med bananas, mashed and ripe (should be turning brown with spots)- I used 3 for this
  • 1/3 cup of oil
  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries thawed
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and grease or line a 12 muffin tin
  2. In a small bowl, mix the dry ingredients from flour through salt.
  3. In a large bowl, mash the bananas. Add the oil, honey, egg and vanilla if not using a vanilla protein powder. Stir together.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the banana mixture and fold gently to combine. About 10-15 strokes, no mixers.
  5. Gently stir in blueberries, but don’t over mix
  6. Fill muffin cup almost to the top of the cup liner
  7. Bake for 20-25min, checking at 20. Mine were done at 20, however each oven is different.
  8. The muffins are done when a tester (I use spaghetti) poked through the muffin comes out clean

The nutrition info per muffin:

  • 150 calories
  • 20g carb
  • 2.5g of fiber
  • 5g of protein
  • 6g of fat

 

Leave a Reply

