Blackberry Muffin in a Mug (Dairy Free, Vegetarian)

Similar to the cake in the mug, I decided to try my hand a making a muffin in a mug. To those that haven’t heard of this new fangled idea, it’s where you make a single serving cake (or muffin) by mixing the ingredients together in a microwavable mug. 2 minutes later and presto, you have a single serving delicious cake.

This idea wasn’t mine, and this isn’t my first attempt at a mug recipe. This is the first one I’m posting, and it came out quite tasty. This morning before I started my work day, I checked Face Book. On it, a friend had posted a link to the Today Show, and several recipes for mug cakes. I was pretty taken aback with the ingredients, and the amount of calories, sugar and fat in their recipes listed.

I analyzed one recipe with my recipe analysis software, and here are the results.

Single Serving Blueberry Muffin in a Mug:

  • 517kcal
  • 58g carbohydrates, with 38g of added sugar
  • 27g of fat, totaling 80% of your recommended daily intake of saturated fat
  • 10g of protein

Wow! So, the culprit ingredients included 2 tbsp of butter and 3 tbsp of sugar, and also included white flour. So, as I often do, I decided to try to make a healthier version. And I think it came out delicious. Of course 2 tbsp of butter and 3 tbsp of sugar was most likely more decadent.

Here’s my version:

Blackberry Muffin in a Mug

  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 tbsp oil-olive/coconut/vegetable
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp milk-I used an almond coconut blend
  • 2 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp ground chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp stevia
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • Dash of salt and cinnamon to taste
  • 10 frozen blackberries thawed- equaled about 1/4 cup
  1. Spray or grease a microwavable mug
  2. Place an egg in the mug, and whisk
  3. Add applesauce, oil, vanilla and milk and whisk together
  4. To that mixture add the remaining ingredients. It should resemble a muffin or cake batter. If too thick add additional milk.
  5. Place in microwave and heat for 2 minutes.

I have a 1000w microwave. If you have a slower microwave, cook longer. If you have a faster microwave, cook less.

You can then eat it directly out of the mug, or flip it out onto a plate. This is what I did. Once I flipped it out, I cut it into chunks and ate it. Yummy.

If you’d like to try a gluten free version, I would suggest trying oat or almond flour instead of the whole wheat. I haven’t tried either, but that’s not to say I won’t. My version is also dairy free and can be made vegan by substituting flaxseed/water for the egg.

Nutrition facts of my muffin in a mug:

  • 275kcal
  • 23g of carbohydrate with no added sugar
  • 16g of fat, with only 25% of daily saturated fat intake
  • 11g of protein

Plus mine had added fiber and omega 3 fatty acids. All in all a good start to the day.

The microwaved muffin

The microwaved muffin

After microwaving, I flipped the muffin out and cut into chunks

After microwaving, I flipped the muffin out and cut into chunks

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

