Pumped Up Pumpkin Oatmeal (Veg, GF)

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, and I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Often I’ll have a bowl of oatmeal for dinner if I haven’t gone to the grocery in a while, or don’t feel like preparing a more elaborate meal. Plus, there are a lot of benefits to oatmeal. This time, I wanted to add more of a protein punch to my oatmeal. Occasionally I’ll add protein powder, but this time I wanted to add an egg. I have heard of people putting eggs on top of their oatmeal, but I wanted the fluffy effect that adding the egg to the oatmeal would provide.

In addition, I added pumpkin (tis the season and it’s yummy), walnuts, a new almond/coconut milk that I’d been wanting to try and cinnamon. Here are some reasons that this makes a great breakfast, or… lunch and dinner.

Benefits of Oats:

  • Healthy whole grain
  • High in fiber
  • Contains beta glucan-known to boost immunity, stabilize blood sugar and reduce LDL (bad) cholesterol
  • High satiety factor (meaning you’ll feel satisfied post consumption)
  • High in manganese, molybdenum and magnesium

Then, you add in some pumpkin, eggs and walnuts, and here’s more nutrition benefits:

  • Pumpkin-very high in vitamin A
  • Eggs-high in protein, selenium, choline and some B vitamins
  • Walnuts-healthy fat and omega 3 fatty acids

pumped oatmea

Pumped Up Pumpkin Oatmeal

  • 1 cup milk or water-I used a combination of almond and coconut milk
  • 1 egg-whisked
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup oats (gluten free if needed)
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • Spices to taste-cinnamon, pumpkin pie
  1.  In a microwave bowl (or on the stovetop) place the milk and egg. Whisk the egg and add in the vanilla.
  2. Stir in the pumpkin and oats and microwave for 2:30-3min. Stir and add in the walnuts and spices.
  3. Enjoy

Nutrition:

  • 469kcal
  • 42g carbohydrate
  • 24g protein
  • 24g fat
  • 9g fiber

 

 

Leave a Reply

