Hearty Blackberry Pancakes (GF)

I’m certainly on a breakfast kick this week, and it could be because I’m actually home this week and on a Saturday. Normally I work Saturday, but this weekend I’m working tomorrow. Tomorrow I’m doing a nutrition clinic for athletes in Bethesda, MD if anyone wants to join us. Nutrition clinics are the best part of my job because I get to speak more one on one with athletes. At expos and group rides/runs it’s usually only for a few minutes. Clinics are 60-120min in length.

This morning waking up it was chilly (in the 40’s F) and rainy. It reminded me of being back in Oregon during the winter. I had some frozen blackberries (another Oregon reference) and I wanted to make pancakes. I’m trying to perfect a gluten free pancake, so those who have to exclude it from their diet don’t have to use a packaged mix. And I think I scored with this recipe as Brett went back for seconds. I don’t have a Vitamix (hint hint Brett) yet, but my friend Betsy ground up some different flours for me to play around with. So, I have a nice assortment to use. Next up needs to be the quinoa, buckwheat or chickpea flour.

This morning I used a combination of oat flour and almond flour. You can use other gluten free flours, but be warned that it might change the  pancake. This is true especially for coconut flour. Coconut flour really soaks up liquid and you’ll need to play around with the measurements. For milk you could use skim, soy, coconut, almond, hemp, or whatever is your fancy. I used a combination of coconut and almond because it’s what I had on hand. Fruit can be anything you have on hand. I generally have berries in the freezer, if out of season. Feel free to use blueberries or even raspberries.

If you have a family that loves pancakes, or you’d like to freeze some, I might double the recipe. This make 12 x 3-4inch pancakes. Serve plain, with some pineapple (our favorite), a little butter or even some peanut butter or almond butter. Syrup would be delicious, but save the extra sugar for post workout.

 

Heart Blackberry Pancakes

Hearty Blackberry Pancakes

Hearty Blackberry Pancakes: (serves 3)

  • 1/2 cup of oat flour
  • 1/2 cup of almond flour
  • 2 tbsp ground chia or flax seed
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 3/4 cup of milk (almond/coconut)
  • 1/3 of cup of unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp agave, honey or stevia if desired (I used agave)
  • 1 cup of blackberries (if frozen, thawed)
  1. Grease or spray a griddle or pan and heat to medium. The pan is ready when water sizzles when it’s dropped on it.
  2. In a large bowl stir together flours, ground seeds, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.
  3. In a smaller bowl whisk one egg. Add milk and stir.
  4. To the milk mixture add the applesauce, vanilla and sweetener if using.
  5. Slowly add the milk mixture to the flour mixture and gently stir. Do not vigorously stir, but stir enough to combine. If you think the mixture is too thick, you can add a bit more milk. The mixture should not be thick, but also not runny.
  6. Stir in the blackberries
  7. Cook for 3-4 minutes, turning around the 90sec-2min mark. When you have bubbles formed on the top of the pancake and the edges are starting to look hardened, check if ready to flip. Cook on both sides until done.
  8. Enjoy with your desired topping

Nutrition for 1 serving (4 pancakes)

  • 292kcal
  • 30g carbohydrate
  • 15g fat
  • 12g protein
  • 8g fiber

Also a good source of magnesium, manganese and Vit. E

 

7 thoughts on “Hearty Blackberry Pancakes (GF)

    • Hi Catie, thank you so much, I appreciate it. The prep time isn’t much at all 10-15min tops. The cook time will depend on whether you are using a large griddle or a smaller saute pan. If you’re using the griddle, it would be 8 min. If you are using a smaller pan and have to do more batches, each batch cooks for 4min. You might be looking at 20min in that case. Total time with griddle :20, total time with a smaller pan, :30 min.

      Like

  1. Also I forgot to mention that I’ve had a nerve root block in my back which eliminated the back as the problem. Also had cortisone injection into the piriforis. Which I would have thought would eliminate that but again there could be some scar tissue in that spot too. So I guess its going to be a process of elimination. I will let you know how I get on. But some feed back for you on your post operation would be great
    Thanks again

    Like

    • I just sent you an email. I also forgot to mention that I had a cortisone shot as well. No help for me either. I’ve been meaning to write another follow up post, but works been crazy. Shoot me more questions to my email.

      Like

  2. Hi
    My name is Anton and I live in Australia. I believe that I could have the same problem with my hamstring that you had.
    I’m just wondering how you are now that your surgery was a while ago. I just had a saline injection yesterday to lift the sciatic nerve off the hamstring. The doctor said it was floating up and away from the hamstring now. So hopefully this will be all I need and I’ll be back to normal. I have had this problem for about 6 years and in constant pain. But I’m a little worried about the scar tissue like you had that still might irritate the sciatic nerve. Also my sciatic nerve passes through my piriformis muscle which only happens in about 12% of people. I feel like saying to the doctor just cut the whole leg and have a look and fix whatever needs fixing but they won’t like doing that. But I just want this to be over. If you could let me know how you’re doing now I would appreciate it this will help me gather information so I can get my problem sorted sooner rather than later. Cheers many thanks Anton
    Ants888@bigpond.com

    Like

    • Hi Anton, boy do I know your pain, and thanks for reaching out. I was hoping if anyone had this issue as well, that I might be able to help with all the treatments I’d tried. I also tried the saline injection and it didn’t help me. I am now 4.5 months post surgery and it’s been a very slow progress, but I am certainly better. I’ll shoot you a private message to talk to you more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

