Salmon and Sweet Potato Stew

I just arrived home from a business trip to VA Beach. I was able to see a good friend, I put on a nutrition clinic for J&A Racing (in prep for the shamrock marathon) and I got to wake up seeing the ocean.  I love the ocean, the peaceful waves and just about any other body of water. Unfortunately, the weather was pretty miserable. Wind, and I’m talking 25+mph constant winds, rain, and freezing temps. I had been excited to do my PT, then my 2.5 mile walk outside on the boardwalk. Unfortunately it was done inside on the Hampton Inn treadmill instead. While traveling, it’s no surprise that my go to food choices are grocery store salad bars. Wegmans, Whole Foods, Harris Teeter, Martins, etc. This time my event was right next to a Whole Foods. So, after my nutrition clinic, some warm soup and salad sounded delicious.

At the large Whole Foods, they often have 8-10 choices of soups. Everyone of them looks and smells delicious, but this time I chose a salmon stew. It was loaded with salmon, beans and veggies. To my surprise, it also had hummus listed as an ingredient. I’m not exactly sure why, but one guess was to help it with its creaminess. So last night, after getting home, I decided to try to re-create it. I always have hummus, beans and veggies at home, and I also had frozen wild salmon. I also added sweet potatoes, corn, celery and cauliflower to my stew. I don’t believe they were in the Whole Foods version.

Whole Foods version used either half and half, butter or cream, I can’t remember which. I didn’t want to use dairy products (I’m experimenting with making things creamy without it), so I decided I’d boil and mash some cauliflower to add to the soup. My thought was, if it was blended enough, it would blend into the stew and you wouldn’t be able to tell it was a veggie. I used a hand masher, and it wasn’t creamy enough. So, I’d suggest a blender, a hand blender or a hand mixer to get the right consistency. And voila, you’ll have a creamy soup, without the cream/fat and added veggies, that don’t look like veggies. Always good for families trying to increase their veggie intake.

With this dinner, you’re getting loads of vitamins, minerals, healthy carbs, antioxidants, healthy fats/omega 3 fatty acids, lean protein and fiber. It’s an all around winner for nutrition and taste.

Salmon and Sweet Potato Stew

Salmon and Sweet Potato Stew

Salmon and Sweet Potato Stew, 6 servings (2 cups each)

-prep and cook time 45min

1/2 head of cauliflower, chopped into large chunks
1/2 cup lower sodium chicken broth or water
2 tbsp olive oil
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped
3 celery stalks, chopped
1 medium sweet potato (about 2 cups), chopped small or minced
1 cup of carrots, chopped small or minced
2.5 cup of lower sodium chicken broth
1 cup of fish stock
1 cup of diced, no salt added tomatoes (canned or fresh)
1 15oz can cream corn (I used creamed for added creaminess)
1 14.5oz drained and rinsed can of great northern beans
1/3 cup plain hummus
12 oz fresh wild salmon (could have been frozen and thawed) cut into 1 inch chunks
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp dried dill
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1 tsp black pepper

1. Place cauliflower in a medium pot and fill with just enough water so that it is covered. Heat to boiling, cover, reduce to medium heat and simmer for 10min.
2. Add 1/2 cup of water or stock, and mash. To get a smoother texture, use a hand beater/blender.
3. In a large stock pot, swirl 2 tbsp olive oil around the pan.
4. Heat to medium, and add garlic and onion. Heat 3 minutes until starting to soften.
5. Add the celery, sweet potato and carrots, and cook 7 minutes.
6. Add the stock, the tomatoes, corn and beans. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to medium low and simmer 3 minutes.
7. Add the hummus and salmon and stir. Simmer an additional 6-8 minutes or until the salmon is done.
8. Add the mashed cauliflower and stir to combine.
9. Season with lemon, dill, parsley and black pepper.

*Note: I used only 1 cup of fish stock as I didn’t want to make this too fishy. Feel free to reverse the fish stock and chicken stock, or just play around with the amounts of each.*

Nutrition per serving:

  • 398kcal
  • 55g carbohydrates
  • 26g protein
  • 10g fat
  • 12g fiber
  • High in iron, vitamin A, C, D, K and the B vitamins

 

 

Leave a Reply

