Fudgy Chocolate Brownies, GF/Dairy Free

So I totally missed the boat today and forgot it was Cinco de Mayo. Brett and I love Mexican food, but it slipped my mind. Instead I made a grilled chicken, asparagus and sweet pea pasta. The kicker was, we used quinoa pasta. We aren’t gluten free, but I thought why not. For future knowledge, after examining it more closely, it turns out it is corn based, with quinoa as the second ingredient. I was ok with that, but if you’re anticipating all quinoa, the brand I used was not. Not to get you all excited about quinoa pasta, because I also made fudgy chocolate brownies. Yumm!

It’s been a while since I baked, and I had a urge to bake something. My goal was to set off to make a no added sugar brownie, using only dates as a sweetener. I still used dates, but I only had 10. So, instead I added some Stevia. I also added some dark chocolate chips, which really made the batter richer. And depending on the % dark chocolate, you will have more or less added sugar. Since the rest of the brownies were so healthy, I went a bit lighter than I normally do, and used 70% dark chocolate vs my traditional 85%. The brownies ended up having 6g of added sugar per bar from the chocolate.

If you’re looking for a lower in fat, lower in sugar brownie, you must give these a try. You can use gluten free all purpose flour, or whole wheat flour. I love experimenting, so I used an all purpose rice flour designed for baking gluten free goodies. It was from Pillsbury. And I must tell you, Brett gave the thumbs up. Before I posted this, I needed his discerning brownie seal of approval. I hope you enjoy these non traditional brownies.

IMG_0881

(I’m still working on making my pictures my appealing and I swear the plate was centered when I took it).

Fudgy Chocolate Brownies: (16 brownies)

10 dates, soaked if need be
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 egg
3/4 cup-1 cup of unsweetened almond milk (skim is fine as well if not dairy free)
2 tsp vanilla
1.5 cups gluten free or whole wheat flour-I used Pillsbury all purpose gluten free flour
3/4 cup cocoa
1/2 cup Stevia
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1.5 cups dark chocolate chips or vegan chocolate chips

1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Line a 9×13 inch pan with parchment paper.
2. In a blender, blend first 4 ingredients. Start with 3/4 cup milk, only adding more at the end of the recipe if the batter seems to dry.
3. In a large bowl, mix flour, cocoa, stevia, baking soda and salt.
4. Mix the wet ingredients gently into the dry ingredients. Combine until thoroughly mixed.
5. Mix in the chocolate chips. The batter will be slightly thick (here is where if you need more milk, add it).
6. Pour mixture into the pan and spread out using a spoon. You will need to gently push into place.
7. Bake 15-20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. My oven took 18 minutes.
8. Cool completely, cut and serve.

Nutrition: per brownie

  • 150kcal
  • 30g carb
  • 3g protein
  • 6g fat
  • 3g fiber

 

Leave a Reply

