Carrot Cake Baked Oatmeal, GF/DF

Going with my fall theme of chili yesterday, today I made baked oatmeal. I love oatmeal, and it’s a fantastic breakfast (or lunch/dinner) for athletes.  Oats have great carbohydrates, fiber, protein, beta glucan (immune boosting and cholesterol lowering), manganese, molybedenum, B vitamins and more.  A steaming hot bowl of oatmeal can warm the soul on a cold day, but sometimes you don’t have time to make it. So in steps baked oatmeal. You can make this on Sunday, and have 6 days worth of breakfasts ready to go in the morning. No prep time required unless you’d like to heat it or add some Greek yogurt on the side for more protein. When my athletes tell me they are rushed with training, school/work, and families, I try to steer them towards easier foods. If you’re in that same boat, you just might want to try baked oatmeal. So give this a whirl. In addition to the benefits of speed, ease and the nutrition from the oats, the walnuts and ground seeds in this baked version have added omega 3 fatty acids.

I decided to go with a carrot cake version, however I’m going to be trying blueberry lemon and pumpkin pie backed oatmeal in the next few weeks. Yesterday, Brett left for Texas. His job starts Tuesday the 8th, and so he gave himself 3 days to get there. On Friday, my parents Brett and I went out to dinner to celebrate his new job. We went to Bistro 11, a newer restaurant in Victor, NY that replaced the old McGann’s Pub. It turns out, it’s an awesome family Italian restaurant. Delicious food, moderately priced, great selection, etc. The name wouldn’t have clued me into the Italian part though. For dessert the 4 of us split a piece of carrot cake. And let me tell you, it was heavenly. It was moist, sweet, and had the perfect cream cheese frosting. My mouth is watering thinking about it. The combination of spices was delicious, and that is when I had the idea for baked carrot cake oatmeal. I will admit, it isn’t nearly as tasty as the actual carrot cake. But to me it could pass for dessert.

*I used pineapple juice, in addition to almond milk. I wanted to make sure it was moist, and in using both, I think I made the bake time much longer than normal. Normally I bake oatmeal for 30-40min. This took 60min. So, next time (or if you want to experiment) I’m going to cut down the milk to just 1 cup.

 

Carrot Cake Baked Oatmeal

 

Carrot Cake Baked Oatmeal: (Serves 6)

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 cups unsweetened almond milk/skim
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice
  • 3 cups gluten free oats if needed
  • 4 tbsp ground flax/chia/hemp (I used hemp)
  • 1tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 cups shredded carrots-3 large carrots
  • 1/2 cup crushed pineapple
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray or line a 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish with parchment paper.
  2. You’ll use 3 bowls. Two medium and 1 large.
  3. In the large bowl, beat eggs, applesauce, maple syrup, coconut oil, vanilla, milk and pineapple juice.
  4. In a medium bowl place oats, ground flax, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, salt and baking powder. Stir together gently.
  5. In the third bowl shred the carrots and add the pineapple, walnuts and raisins. Stir gently.
  6. Pour the oat mixture into the egg mixture and stir.
  7. Pour the carrot mixture into the now oat mixture and stir well.
  8. Pour into the baking dish and bake 45-60min. My dish took 60min. It will be browned on the top and edges, but slightly moist.
  9. I waited 30min till a cooled slightly before cutting. If you’d like to eat it right from the oven, it might be a bit more crumbly.
  10. Cut into 6 pieces. Serve with plain Greek yogurt for additional protein.

Nutrition per piece:

  • 389kcal
  • 52g carbohydrate
  • 11g protein
  • 17g fat
  • 6g fiber
  • 230mg sodium

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Baked Oatmeal, GF/DF

    • Thank you, I hope you enjoy it. Please let me know if you make it. I have to say, I gave some to my dad and said it was a version of carrot cake. I believe he actually did think it was cake, until I told him it was baked oatmeal.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Cristina I have never heard of baked oatmeal! I suspect this is going to be a hit with our family. I am excited to try it. Thank you for fantastic healthy recipes! I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    Like

    • You’re welcome! It’s quite tasty and gives a break from normal oatmeal. Plus it’s so easy to grab and go. I’ve already made the blueberry lemon too 🙂 I hope you enjoy and please let me know what you think.

      Like

Leave a Reply

